Marone
  • PDF
  • Print
  • E-mail

   

Between past and present

maroneThe first inhabitants of this town settled halfway up the lake/hillside in hamlets that were high up and away from streams. There is evidence that settlements with high walls and the remains of spas existed in Roman times but these were later damaged in 1906 when the Iseo-Edolo railway line was built.

In the 15th century wool manufacturing was already common and so from coarse fabrics they moved on to produce better quality blankets. A century later iron from Valcamonica (the Camonica Valley) was smelted in the blast furnaces and then exported via the lake. At the same time the village made a breakthrough thanks to its port, where timber and coal from the woods stretching up to Monte Guglielmo (Mount William) arrived. In the 18th century blankets and cloth were made in Marone thanks to the presence of fuller’s earth, a type of clay used for scouring wool. This provided work for about 90 people.

The wool industry flourished in the 19th century, especially with regard to the production of felt. The felt industry still exists today and, along with the exploitation of the dolomite mines, has altered the countryside a great deal.

San Pietro in Vinculis, the first parish church in Marone, is worth a visit. It was built in the 15th century on one of the spurs of Monte Vesto, on the site of a castle which was destroyed in the 13th century. There is also the 15th-century cemetery church, the parish church of the little hamlet of Vello, which has a bell-tower with mullioned windows. The Santuario della Madonna della Rota, situated in a gorge of the Opol Valley, was built in the 16th century incorporating an earlier 15th-century church.

Consecrated in 1754, the parish church of San Martino di Tours (St. Martin of Tours) has a bell-tower dating back to 1874 which is 24 metres high.The ruins of a Roma villa are also to be found in the district called Vela: evidence from ancient times, the remains of this Roman building from the 1st century A.D. slope down to the lake in terraces, covering an area of about 80 metres.marone2

Last but not least is the church of  S. Eufemia (St. Euphemia), the parish church of Vello, which was built in 1715. Vello is a very small village with a picturesque harbour on the coast road to Pisogne.

From a naturalistic point of view you can’t fail to notice Monte Guglielmo (Mount William) which, at 1946 metres, is the highest mountain on the Sebino ridge and which can be reached via a path with breathtaking views. The old Via Valeriana, probably of Roman origin, is a mule track which was the obligatory route north from the Brescia area, as well as the main route to Valtrompia, for thousands of years. It was restored and re-opened in 2002 and here landscape, art and history all come together in harmony...
(see “Itineraries”)